Monday, May 2, 2016

MEDIA ADVISORY from the San Diego Unified School District: San Diego Unified 2016 Day of the Teacher Celebration


May 2, 2016

For Immediate Release

Contact: Linda Zintz, communications director, 619-847-6637 or


San Diego Unified 2016 Day of the Teacher Celebration

Hundreds expected to attend the annual celebration in honor of National Teacher Day


WHAT: The Day of the Teacher event honors the three outstanding educators who have been named San Diego Unified 2016 Teachers of the Year at the elementary, middle and high school level. The three Teacher of the Year runners-up and more than 120 Teachers of the Year from individual school sites will also be recognized.


WHEN:  May 3, 2016,  4:30 to 5:15 p.m. Reception, 5:15 to 7 p.m. Day of the Teacher Special Board of Education Celebration


WHERE: Creative Performing Media Arts Middle School, Performing Arts Center, 5050 Conrad Drive (92117);


ATTENDEES INCLUDE: Superintendent Cindy Marten, Board of Education members, district leadership, school administrators, families and friends of teachers being recognized, and student performers from CPMA Middle School and Hoover High School.


VISUALS: District’s three Teachers of the Year being honored with video tributes, three runner-ups receiving special recognition and site teachers of the year being recognized. Attendance is usually between 300-350 people. Students are performing during the ceremony. Culinary students from Garfield, Morse and San Diego high schools are prepping and serving food during the reception. CPMA’s Jazz Ensemble is providing the music.


DETAILS: Nominees for Teacher of the Year are first selected by their school sites. They then have the option to go through the application process, which includes writing essays, an interview and a classroom observation. These candidates are selected by a seven-member committee made up of district Teachers of the Year from the two previous years. All district winners have the option to apply for the county-wide award program. This year’s winners are Julie Szweda, itinerant music teacher who serves Balboa, Boone, Burbank, Normal Heights and Rosa Parks elementary schools, Tara Jean , from Correia Middle School (math/AVID) and Jonathan Hash (History) from Lincoln High School.  Runners-up are Allison Buell (Kindergarten) from Central Elementary School, Ebonee Weathers (6th-grade ELA, Science, History) from Mann Middle School and Jennifer Roberts (9th-grade English) from Point Loma High School.

In addition to the Teachers of the Year, there is a reception before the special Board of Education meeting, starting at 4:30 p.m. Students from San Diego Unified's award-winning culinary arts programs at Garfield, Morse  and San Diego high schools are prepping and serving appetizers and desserts. The Jazz Ensemble from CPMA is providing the music.


SPONSORS: AXA Advisors San Diego, The Standard, California Coast Credit Union, California Schools VEBA,, Mission Federal Credit Union , San Diego Education Association, San Diego Education Fun, San Diego Unified’s Community Service Association and VALIC


CONTACT: Linda Zintz | Communications Director | | 619-847-6637


# # # #