Friday, April 30, 2010

NEWS RELEASE -- 'Teachers of the Year' Announced By San Diego Unified

NEWS RELEASE from the San Diego Unified School Ditrict, April 30, 2010
SAN DIEGO -- A one-time English-language learner, a former community
activist and a ex-biotechnology researcher, now all teachers in the San
Diego Unified School District, have been named Teachers of the Year for
Nancy Wooten, Emalyn Leppard and Ericka Senegar-Mitchell are elementary,
middle and high school teachers with different backgrounds, classes and
teaching methods, but they're all now Teachers of the Year.
The trio will be saluted at the Day of the Teacher Celebration, from 5-7
p.m., Tuesday, May 4, at Montgomery Middle School, 2470 Ulric St. (92111).
140 school-site Teachers of the Year, the latest class of National Board
Certified Teachers, and the Future Educator Scholars entering the teaching
profession will also be honored.
A Teacher of the Year is selected for each school level. Wooten is a first
grade teacher at Zamorano Fine Arts Academy, Leppard a special-education
teacher at Montgomery Middle School, and Senegar-Mitchell a biotechnology
teacher at Serra High School.
"Teachers are the strength of our district and these three exemplify all
that is best about innovation, caring and drive among our teachers," said
Bill Kowba, Interim Superintendent.
Teachers are picked at each school; the district selection process is a
joint effort between the San Diego Education Association and district
All Board members and senior district staff are scheduled to attend. The
event will be catered by students in Culinary Arts programs at Garfield,
Morse and Scripps Ranch high schools, with music by the Patrick Henry High
School Jazz Ensemble. Seating is limited; to RSVP go to:
San Diego Unified's Teachers of the Year and runners-up are eligible to
apply for San Diego county Teacher of the Year, part of the process leading
to the national Teacher of the Year. The county Teacher of the Year ceremony
will be held this fall and is organized by the San Diego County Office of
# # #
Note to reporters and editors: Our Teachers of the Year are available for
interviews; contact Jack Brandais at (619) 725-5570 to schedule. Your
coverage is invited of the Day of the Teacher Celebration on Tuesday. All
three will be there and available for interviews from 4:30 to 5 p.m.
Jack Brandais
Communications Department
San Diego Unified School District
(619) 725-5570 (Desk)
(619) 607-0477 (Cell)
You are a subscriber to the news release mailing list for the San Diego Unified School District. To unsubscribe, send a message to "media@lists-sandi-net" with the word "unsubscribe" in the body of the message. For an archive of these releases, go to


Nancy Wooten

Emalyn Leppard

Ericka Senegar-Mitchell